The Treaty of Srirangapatinam was signed 18 March 1792 and ended the Third Anglo-Mysore War. The signatories of the treaty included Tipu Sultan, Nizam of Hyderabad, Lord Cornwallis on behalf of British, Representatives of Mahratta Empire, Ruler of Mysore, Raja of Kodagu.

In late 1789 a war began when Tippu Sultan (Ruler of Mysore) attacked Travancore which was an ally of British East India Company. British along with its allied forces from Maratha Empire and Hyderabad, laid siege towards Mysore’s capital Srirangapatinam in 1792. Instead of war  Cornwallis entered into negotiations with Tipu to end the conflict which resulted in a treaty and was signed on 18 March. Cornwallis had hoped to this treaty would be mantra for arranging peace settlement across various Kingdoms along with neutralizing the threat of Tippu Sultan of Mysore and to prevent conflict between Hyderabad and the Marathas. The Marathas however resisted inclusion of such script in the treaty.

Terms of the treaty are as below:

  1. Mysore was to give up about one-half of its territories to the other signatories of the treaty which included.
    1. The Peshwa got territory up to the Tungabhadra River
    2. The Nizam was given land from the Krishna to the Penner River, and the forts of Cuddapah (Kadapa) and Gandikota on the south bank of the Penner.
    3. The East India Company was awarded  large portion of Mysore’s Malabar Coast territories between the Kingdom of Travancore and the Kali River along with Baramahal and Dindigul districts.
    4. Raja of Coorg was given his independence.
  2. Tipu Sultan was asked to pay an indemnity of 330 lakhs of rupees failing which he was required to surrender two of his three sons as hostages of war.
    1. He paid the amount in two instalments and got back his sons from Madras.